Jen’s travel diary: TOKYO – SHIBUYA

It has been a while since my last post. I can justify myself. I was mostly either busy with work or busy traveling. I am enjoying both activities a lot, but it was difficult to fit in time to go through all the pictures captured.

In the beginning of this year, I made a promise to myself. It’s time to travel. This year I would like to take as many opportunities as I can to see places around the world.

So far, so good. It seems to be successful. I’m still currently in Guangzhou, and fortunately, I’m not completely lonely here for most of the time. I am lucky to have a wonderful brother, a supporting sister and an awesome boyfriend, who each came to visit me. Of course, while their visits, we took the chance to escape the city, because traveling together is always more fun, isn’t it?

When P. came,  I surprised him with a trip to Japan, Tokyo. It is a quite a short getaway of 4 days only, but it was perfect. We met up my brother and cousin at Shibuya, where we mostly stayed. Tokyo is one of the most beautiful cities I’ve ever been to. The best about it? People and the environment. Japanese people do not always speak English. But they make a lot of effort to contribute to your stay, which I personally find very important.

Shibuya Crossing

IMG_0201.JPG

Shibuya is best known for the Shibuya Crossing, the busiest pedestrian crossing in the world. And that’s exactly where we met my brother and cousin. A place full of crowd and people, hurrying towards the other side of the road. It feels like you’re in a movie, and I completely understand why people record this scenery.

Shibuya is also well-known for its shopping malls, like the 109 for women and men. Unfortunately, time did not allow me to do any shopping, but that’s a reason to travel back, right?

IMG_0205.JPG

Hint: At the Crossing, you can find a Starbucks, which has a second floor. if you would like to film the crossing, it is a great spot (but hard to find seats)

Hachiko Statue

img_0208

If you don’t know Hachiko yet, you should watch the movie! It is one of my very favourites and it always gets me emotional. Hachiko is known to be the most loyal dog, as even after his master died, he kept going back to the train station waiting for him. Hachiko is an Inu Shiba, which is btw my favourite breed. Anyway, the Hachiko Statue is located right at the Shibuya Crossing, so if you get out of the Shibuya Station, you won’t be able to miss it.

More about this trip, coming soon.

 

Leave a comment